Punnin causes upset to enter main draw at 22nd edition of NECC Deccan ITF 50K Women’s Tennis Tournament
Pune, January 22,2024: Thailand’s
Punnin Kovapitukted upset qualifying top seed Jessie Aeny of USA 6-4, 6-1 to enter the main draw at 22nd edition of NECC Deccan ITF 50K Women’s Tennis Tournament being organized by Deccan Gymkhana and sponsored by #NationalEggCoordinationCommittee (#NECC) under the auspices of the #ITF, #AITA and #MSLTA and played at the #DeccanGymkhana #Tennis Courts
Both the Indian girls Humera Baharmus and Zeel Desai could not keep their momentum and went down with contrasting scores
Fourth seed Naho Sato of Japan outhit Humera Baharmus 6-3, 6-1 , while eighth seed Viktoria Morvayova of Slovakia struggled to get past Zeel Desai 3-6, 6-4, 6-4 in the longest match of the day . Zeel took the first set but squandered opportunities in the second set and could not close the match
Zeel was truly lucky as she made the main draw as a lucky loser . The main draw matches will be played from Tuesday .
Results: Final Qualifying round: Womens:
Naho Sato(Jpn)[4] bt Humera Baharmus (Ind) [16] 6-3, 6-1;
Naiktha Bains (Gbr) [6] bt Yukina Saigo (Jpn) [15] 6-0, 6-4;
Anouk Koevermans(Ned) [3] bt Lena Papadakis (Ger) [9] 6-2, 4-6, 6-2;
Punnin Kovapitukted (Tha) [13] bt Jessie Aeny (USA) [1] 6-4, 6-1;
Viktoria Morvayova (Svk) [8] bt Zeel Desai (Ind) [11] 3-6, 6-4, 6-4;
Saki Imamura (Jpn) [7] bt Ekaterina Yashina (Rus) [14] 6-4, 7-6(2);
Eri Shimizu (Jpn) [5] bt Mana Kawamura(Jpn) [12] 6-2, 6-2;
Tina Nadine Smith (Aus) [2] bt Mei Yamaguchi (Jpn) [10] 6-1, 4-6, 7-5.
Darja Semenistaja gets top billing in singles event .
Double crown Winner of the the Bengaluru leg Darja Semenistaja of Latvia ranked 142 will be top seed of the event .
Ankita Raina ranked 223 is the lone Indian to be seeded and will be ranked seventh
Anastasia Tikhonova of Russia, Moyuka Uchijima of Japan who won the ITF event at Navi Mumbai last month and Himena Sakatsume also of Japan are ranked second, third and fourth respectively.
Alexandra Eala of Philippines , Carole Monnet of France and Tatiana Prozorova of Russia will be the fifth , sixth and eighth
In the doubles Naiktha Bains and Fanni Stollar will be top seeds , Sapfo Sakellaridi and Prarthana Thombare will be second seeds , Indian pair of Rutuja Bhosale and Ankita Raina will be the third seeds while Alexandra Eala and Darja Semenistaja will be the fourth seed