Russia’s Ekaterina Makarova gets top billing  at $40000 Ganesh Naik ITF Women’s Championships.


  • Former Top 10 Kristina Mladenovic of France to be seen in action 


·        Players from 18 countries to be seen in action  

Navi Mumbai  December 23, 2023:  188 world  ranked  Ekaterina Makarova of Russia has been awarded the top billing ,  196th ranked  Moyuka Uchijima  of Japan has been seeded second  while India’s Rutuja Bhosale ranked 328 has been seeded sixth at the IWTC-2023 ITF World Tennis Tour $40000 Tournament  (SHRI GANESH NAIK'S INITIATIVE) which will be organized by the Navi Mumbai Sports Association  in association with Maharashtra State Lawn tennis Association (MSLTA) under the auspices of the ITF , AITA  and to be played at the Ganesh Naik Tennis Complex here.


The tournament director of the event Dr Dilip K Rane, informed that The championships will offer total prize money of $ 40,000 (Rs. 33,29,804)  is being supported by  This  will be the third ITF event in a row to be organised in Maharashtra after Mumbai and Solapur and the first $40000 event   .  The event finds high level of participation having drawn  Top women’s tennis players from 18  countries  . Apart from Asian Games Mixed Doubles Gold Medallist Rutuja Bhosale Sahaja Yamlapalli , Vaidehi Chaudari , Zeel Desai and Shrivalli Rashmika Bhamidipathy are the Indian players in the Main Draw  


Upcoming youngsters Vaishnavi Adkar and Akansha Nitture of Navi Mumbai  , Suhirtha Maruri of Telangana have been awarded the Main draw Wild cards by the MSLTA and AITA   added Sunder Iyer Hon Secretary MSLTA  . " It is tribute to the event  that has been contonously played for 10 years in a row that Former World No 10 Kristina Mladenovic of France will be seen in action at the event which no Indian Player has won before  , the event will be last event on the ITF Calender  the points here will help the players to start the New Year with better rankings , we hope that  Indian players will make of the opputunity , Iyer  added 




While the winner will receive WTA 70 points and prize money of $ 6,094    (Rs.2,45,000/-  approx)  , The runners up will receive 42 WTA  points and prize money of $3,257   (Rs.1,30,600/- approx)  , the semifinalists  25 points and prize money of $1789,  the quarterfinalists 13 points and prize money of $1029and the pre- quarterfinalist 7  points  and prize money of $ 624 points. The first round loser will receive 1 points and prize money of $ 370 totaling of $ 27957. 


There will also be points and prize money for the qualifying rounds the second round  qualifying looser  will get 4  points and $ 95 , the third round qualifier loser will  2 get $  153 totaling  $ 2744 . The doubles winner pair will get the  points  and the winner getting $2230, the runners up $1115 , the Semifinalists $557, Quarterfinalist $304 and the First round $ 203. Totaling  $ 7299


 Hassan Samani of Iran will be the ITF referee of the event.


 Following are the Seeds : Singles:

1. Ekaterina Makarova(Rus,188), 2.Moyuka Uchijima(JPN,196), 3. Kristina Mladenovic(FRA,226), 4.Justina Mikulskyte(LTU,259), 5.Sapfo Sakellaridi(GRE,282), 6.Rutuja Bhosale(IND,328), 7. Diana Marcinkevica(LAT,343), 8. Sahaja Yamalapalli (IND,408);  



1. Diana Marcinkevica(LAT)/Sapfo Sakellaridi(GRE), 2. Ekaterina Maklakova/Ekaterina Yashina, 3.Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty/Vaidehi Chaudhari(IND), 4.Hiromi Abe/Saki Imamura(JPN).