Vishwakarma , Banthia carve big wins at MSLTA  25K Mens ITF Tennis Tournament


Mumbai, November 21, 2023:  Siddharth Vishwakarma and Maharashtra boy  Siddanth Banthia  scored big wins to move into the second round  at the MSLTA $25000 Mens ITF tennis championships being organized by Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) and played at their GA Ranade Tennis centre at Mumbai. 


In the opening round  Siddharth Vishwakarma carved out the first upset of the event toppling four seeded Vladyslav Orlov of Ukraine 7-6(2), 6-3 while Pune Boy Siddhant Banthia came back from loss of the first set to oust Kazuma Kawachi of. Japan 3-6, 7-6(5), 6-1 to move into the second round 


In other matches featuring Indians Sidarth Rawat  scored a 7-5,6-3 win over  Nitin Kumar Sinha  while Dev Javia  accounted for Wild card Parth Aggarwal 6-1, 5-7, 6-3


Harrison Adams of USA ,  Ryotaro Taguchi  of  Japan,  alongside six Indians  Madhwin Kamath ,  Rohan Mehra , Bharath Nishok Kumaran ,  Kabir Hans,  Aryan Shah and  Shivank Bhatnagar qualified for the main draw of the event  after the final round qualifying 


The tournament was inaugurated Andrew Moss. Head, ITF World Tennis Tour, Strategy and Pathway  Mr.Sunder Iyer, Hon Secretary of MSLTA, Mr.Manoj Vaidya, CEO of MSLTA and ITF Supervisor Mr Amorn Duangpinkin of Thailand were present on the occasion. 



Results: Final Qualifying Round:

Harrison Adams (Usa)[1] bt Gabriele Volpi (Ita)[9]6-3, 6-2;

Ryotaro Taguchi (Jpn) [2] bt Jagmeet Singh (Ind) [16]6-0, 6-1;

Madhwin Kamath (Ind) [3] bt Adil Kalyanpur (Ind)[14]6-4, 6-2;

Rohan Mehra (Ind) [4] bt Ha Minh Duc Vu (Vie) [12]6-3, 4-6, 10-7;

Bharath Nishok Kumaran (Ind) [5] bt Ajay Malik(Ind)[11] 3-6, 6-1, 10-1;

Kabir Hans (Ind) [6] bt Deepak Anantharamu (Ind)6-3, 6-3;

Aryan Shah (Ind) [15] bt (WC)Rishi Reddy (Ind)[7] 6-4, 7-5;

Shivank Bhatnagar (Ind) [8] bt Abhishek Bastola(Nep)6-7(5), 6-1, 10-5;


Main Draw: Singles: First Round:

Siddharth Vishwakarma (Ind) bt Vladyslav Orlov (Ukr) [4] 7-6(2), 6-3; 

Siddhant Banthia (Ind) bt Kazuma Kawachi (Jpn)3-6, 7-6(5), 6-1;

Yunseok Jang (Kor) bt Sandesh Kurale (Ind)6-0, 6-2;

Sidharth Rawat (Ind) [6] bt Nitin Kumar Sinha (Ind) 7-5, 6-3

Dev Javia (Ind) bt Parth Aggarwal (Ind) 6-1, 5-7, 6-3; 

David Pichler (Aut) [8] bt Sarthak Suden (Ind) 6-2, 6-0.