Maharashtra player Vaishnavi Adkar wins ticket to Paris

Maharashtra player Vaishnavi Adkar wins ticket to Paris



Rank outsider Vaishnavi Adkar of. Maharashtra asserted her fighting qualities to get past Sanjana Sirimalla 4-6, 6-4, 7-6(3) in the girls final of the Roland Garros junior wild card tennis tournament on the clay courts of the DLTA Complex on Wednesday.

There was no such contest in the boys final, as top seed Dev Javia exploded his way past Chirag Duhan 6-2, 6-1. With the experience of the Australian Open behind him, even though he could not feel the joy of winning in Melbourne, and a career-best rank of 54, the left-handed Dev, trained by coach Shrimal Bhatt, was easily the best player among the boys.

Sanjana, who served better, fought back from the crunch to force the tie-break after Vaishnavi had failed to serve out the match at 5-4 in the decider, but erred more often than her opponent in the climax of the gripping contest.

Ranked 652 in the world among the juniors, Vaishnavi, who is coached by Kedar Shah at Pune was understandably thrilled with her accomplishment. Vaishnavi was honest to admit that she was not sure of winning even her first round against Sarah Dev. She had won from being down 3-5 in the decider against Akanksha Nitture in the semifinals.

The Indian champions will compete in a play-off with other champions from Brazil, China and Mexico in Paris, on a round-robin format, in May. The champions from that event will get the wild card into the main draw of the Roland Garros junior event.

Multiple Grand Slam champion Mary Pierce, who had won the women’s title in Roland Garros in 2000, presented the trophies and the symbolic boarding cards to the champions.

The results:

Boys (final): Dev Javia bt Chirag Duhan 6-2, 6-1: Third place: Mohit Bondre w.o. Nitin Jaipal Singh.

Girls (final): Vaishnavi Adkar bt Sanjana Sirimalla 4-6, 6-4, 7-6(3);Third place: Reshma Maruri bt Akanksha Nitture 4-6, 6-2, [10-6].

Well done 


Our Partners
  • Yonex Sunrise
  • Yonex
Event Associates
  • All India Tennis Association
  • Asian Tennis Fedaration
  • International Tennis Number
  • International Tennis Fedaration