Duckworth wins singles title at KPIT MSLTA  Challenger

Duckworth wins singles title at KPIT MSLTA  Challenger

  Ramkumar – Raja Lift Doubles title     

Pune , November 17 :   Second seeded James Duckworth of Australia won his fourth Challenger title of  the year as he  got past fifth seeded Jay Clarke of Britain  in the finals of the  sixth edition of the KPIT MSLTA  Challenger a Challenger 80 series event which is  concluded  at the MSLTA School of tennis courts at the Mhalunge Balewadi Sports Complex ,

In the singles finals the 27 year old James Duckworth of Brisbane  scored a 4-6,6-6,6-4 win over 
 fifth seeded  Jay Clarke of Great Britain in a tight match lasting 2 hours 18 minutes . Duckworth playing his eighth straight Challenger event in a row made valuable 80 ATP points and $7200 . The win at Pune will take back Duckworth in the top 100 cementing his place in the main draw of the Australian Open .
Jay Clarke who was contesting his second ATP challenger final of the year would have to be content with 48 ATP points and $4240 for his efforts of reaching the finals .
Purav Raja and Ramkumar Ramanathan secured  their second  doubles title on a trot as they closed out another Indian Pair  Arjun Kadhe and Saketh Myneni 7-6(3),6-3 in the finals .  Ramkumar and Raja picked up $3100 and 80 ATP points , while Arjun and Saketh had to be content with $1800 and 48 ATP points
” I’m thrilled to win the event , it has been a lot of handwork for me  I have been out of tennis since the later part of 2017 and have gone through 5 major operations , this is for my family who has supported me . I’m glad to get back to the Top 100 as it guarantees entry into bigger events and also ensures that i’m comfortable on finances ” said Duckworth who was ranked as high as 82 .
Clarke was heading  well in the match after claiming the first set 6-4, in the second Clarke had three breakpoints but could not hold on and then found himself broken and losing the second set. In the third set Duckworth broke Clarke in the ninth game and seal the match 6-4 and fall on the ground  celebrating his win .
The prizes were Given away at the hands of Mr Kishor Patil MD KPIT , Shekar Sonsale VP KPIT  Mr A Balakrishnan MD Nutanix , Mr Sunder Iyer Tournament Director , Roland Herfel ATP Supervisor.  MSLTA VP  Prashant Sutar, Jt Secretary Rajiv Desai , Abhishek Tamhane , PMDTA Treasurer Kaustubh Shah and Vice President Umesh Mane 
 Following are the Results (  Finals)
(2) James Duckworth (Aus ) bt  (5) Jay Clarke (Gbr)    4-6,6-4,6-4

Doubles Finals
 (1) Purav Raja / Ramkumar Ramanathan (Ind) bt  (3) Arjun Kadhe/Saketh Myneni (Ind) 7-6(3),6-3

Our Partners
  • Yonex Sunrise
  • Yonex
Event Associates
  • All India Tennis Association
  • Asian Tennis Fedaration
  • International Tennis Number
  • International Tennis Fedaration