Pune boys Pungaliya , Banthia in second round qualifiers at KPIT -MSLTA ATP Challenger 2017

Pune boys  Pungaliya , Banthia in second round qualifiers at KPIT -MSLTA ATP Challenger  2017


Pune, November 11:  Local lads Jayesh Pungaliya and Siddanth Banthia made full use of their qualifying round wildcards making it to the second round of the qualifiers at fourth edition of the $50,000 + Hospitality KPIT MSLTA ATP Challenger organized by MSLTA and PMDTA at the MSLTA School of tennis Complex at Mhalunge Balewadi.


17 year old  Siddanth Banthia who missed on the junior season to make his senior debut  ouplayed Siddharth Vishwakarma    7-6, 6-1 , while  Jayesh Pungliya who has been performing consistently at the ITF events  got the better of Dhakshineswar Suresh   4-6, 6-4, 6-3


Fifth seeded Siddharth Rawat  stopped  a fighting Dhruv Sunish  6-4, 7-6 (1) ,   while seventh seeded N Vijay Sundar Prashanth rallied past    Anvit Bendre (IND) 6-4, 6-2 . Chandril  and Lakshit Sood  , Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan  were the other Indians to enter the second round


In the only upset of the day Timur Khabibulinof Kazakhstan upset sixth seeded  Naoki Nakagawa of  Japan 2-6, 7-6, 6-4


Following are the results: First Qualifying Round

Hugo Grenier (4)(FRA) bt  Alexey Kedryuk (KAZ) 6-1,6-1

Sidharth Rawat (5)(IND) bt [ WC] Dhruv Sunish (IND) 6-4, 7-6

N Vijay Sundar Prashanth(7) (IND) bt  Anvit Bendre (IND) 6-4, 6-2

Timur Khabibulin (KAZ) bt Naoki Nakagawa (6)(JPN) 2-6, 7-6, 6-4

Alexei Popyrin (8)(AUS) bt Vinayak Sharma Kaza (IND) 6-3, 7-5

Chandril Sood (IND) bt Milan Radojkovic (SRB)  6-1, 7-5

Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan (IND) bt [WC] Armaan Bhatia (IND) 6-0, 6-3

Borna Gojo (CRO) bt Ivan Sabanov (CRO) 6-3, 6-3

[WC] Siddanth Banthia (IND) bt Siddharth Vishwakarma (IND)  7-6, 6-1

[WC] Jayesh Pungliya (IND) bt [WC] Dhakshineswar Suresh (IND) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3

Lakshit Sood (IND) bt [WC] Prasana Bagade (IND) 6-1, 6-1

Matej Sabanov (CRO)  bt  Suraj R Prabodh (IND)  7-5, 2-6, 6-4

Shalva Dzhanashia (RUS)- Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam (IND) 6-2, 6-4