Pune girls Aher , Ingle and six other Indians qualify for main draw $25000 Pune Open ITF women’s

Pune girls Aher , Ingle and six other Indians qualify for main draw  $25000 Pune Open ITF women’s championships


Pune, November 5:   Local wilcards and junior girls Salsa Aher and Shivani Ingle  alongwith six other Indians qualified for the main draw  of the  $25000  Pune Open ITF women’s championships  an initiative of Kothrud MLA Medha Kulkarni    organized by NS Sports Academy under the auspices of  AITA , MSLTA and PMDTA at the MSLTA School of tennis Complex at Mhalunge Balewadi.


Sixteen year old Pune girl Salsa Aher  thrashed Sirat Pannu 6-0,6-1 ,    while another local wildcard and sixteen year old Shivani Ingle   registered a 6-1,6-3 win over Arthi Muniyan  , the duo will also get their first WTA point for making it to the main draw as qualfiers .


Former national champions Riya Bhatia thrashed Sai Sudipta Yeddulla(Ind) 6-0, 6-1; Prerna Bhambri outplayed Sara Yadav(Ind) 6-3, 6-3 , Sai Samhita Chamarthi rallied past Amrita Mukharji  6-0, 6-4;  while Rishika Sunkara outhit  Pareen Shivekar  6-4, 6-2 to qualify for the main draw  alongwith Nidhi Chilumula who got past  Humera Shaikh  6-3, 7-6(2); and Ramya Natrajan who quelled a challenge from  Soha Sadiq  3-6, 7-6(4), 6-3 to win the longest match of the day .



270th ranked  Deniz  Khazaniuk  of Israel has been given the top billing at the event   , she wll be followed   Jaqueline Adina Cristian of Romania , 307th  Karman Kaur Thandi will be ranked third and the lone Indian to be seeded , followed by   Valeriya Strakhova of Ukraine ,  Ana Veselinovic  ( Mne)  ,   Pei-Chi Lee of Taipei  ,    Yana Sizikova of  of Russia  and Tereza Mihalikova of Slovakia will be seeded fifth ,  sixth , seventh and eighth .


The tournament was inaugurated by the Hon Minister of Sports Vinod Tawade ,  Kothrud MLA Prof. Medha Kulkarni presided over the function ,  Commissioner of Sports Sunil Kendrekar ,  Mr.Sunder Iyer, Hon Sec of MSLTA, Mr .Navnath Shete, Tournament Director  and Arjuna Awardee and former Davis Cupper Sandeep Kirtane , were present on the occasion.  Mr Tawade also felicitated National Champion  and runners-up women players from Maharashtra on the occasion and assured full support to further develop the sport of tennis in Maharashtra  


Following are the results: Final Qualifying round:

Riya Bhatia(Ind) bt Sai Sudipta Yeddulla(Ind) 6-0, 6-1;
Shivani Ingle(Ind) bt Arthi Muniyan(Ind) 6-1, 6-3;
Nidhi Chilumula(Ind) bt Humera Shaikh(Ind) 6-3, 7-6(2);
Prerna Bhambri(Ind) bt Sara Yadav(Ind) 6-3, 6-3;
Sai Samhita Chamarthi(Ind) bt Amrita Mukharji(Ind) 6-0, 6-4;
Rishika Sunkara(Ind) bt Pareen Shivekar(Ind) 6-4, 6-2;
Ramya Natrajan(Ind) bt Soha Sadiq(Ind) 3-6, 7-6(4), 6-3;
Salsa Aher(Ind) bt Sirat Pannu(Ind) 6-0, 6-1;


Following are the seedings Singles   1     Deniz  Khazaniuk  (Isr) , 2.   Jaqueline Adina Cristian(Rom) 3.   Karman Kaur Thandi (Ind)  4.   Valeriya Strakhova (Ukr), 5. Pei-Chi Lee (Tpe)  6 Ana Veselinovic  7.  Yana Sizikova (Rus) , 8.  Tereza Mihalikova of Slovakia.


Doubles: 1.  Karman Kaur Thandi /   Ana Veselinovic   2.Olesya  Pervushina /   Valeriya Strakhova  , 3 Pei-Chi Lee /  Yana Sizikova  4.   Jaqueline Adina Cristian /   Tereza Mihalikova