Aher , Ingle in second round qualifying at $25000 Pune Open ITF women’s championships

Aher , Ingle in second round qualifying at $25000 Pune Open ITF women’s championships


Pune, November 4:   Local wilcards and junior girls Salsa Aher and Shivani Ingle  alongwith seeds moved into the second and final round of the  $25000  Pune Open ITF women’s championships  an initiative of Kothrud MLA Medha Kulkarni    organized by NS Sports Academy under the auspices of  AITA , MSLTA and PMDTA at the MSLTA School of tennis Complex at Mhalunge Balewadi.


Sixteen year old Pune girl Salsa Aher who was given a qualifying round wildcard  outhit  Preethi Ujjini  6-2, 6-2   , while another local wildcard and sixteen year old Shivani Ingle  put out Astha Dhargude 6-3,6-1


Top seed Riya Bhatia handed a double bagel to Harshita Chugh  Third seeded Nidhi Chilumula  thrashed   Prakriti Banwani   6-1, 6-0 ,fourth seeded Prerna Bhambri got the better of Shreya Tatavarthy   6-3, 6-1


Fifth seeded Sai Samhitha Chamarthi,  served out  Saumya  6-1 ,6-3 , sixth seeded Rishika Sunkara  gave two games to  Shweta Rana winning 6-0, 6-2 , while seventh seeded Ramya Natarajan blanked out Jyothi Manjunath,  6-0,6-0.


The final qualifying rounds will be played on  Sunday followed by the inauguration of the event at the hands of Shri.Vinod Tawade,

 Minister of Sports and Education of Maharashtra , City Guardian Minister Girish Bapat  and Kothrud MLA Prof. Medha Kulkarni  will preside over the ceremony at 4pm


Following are the Results: First Qualifying round:

Riya Bhatia [1](IND)  bt  Harshita Chugh(IND) 6-0, 6-0

Arthi Muniyan(IND) bt Sharmeen Rizvi(IND) 6-0, 6-0       

Nidhi Chilumula [3] (IND) bt  Prakriti Banwani  (IND)6-1, 6-0

Prerna Bhambri [4] (IND)  bt  Shreya Tatavarthy (IND)  6-3, 6-1

Sai Samhitha Chamarthi, [5]IND bt  Saumya Vig  IND 6-1 ,6-3

Rishika Sunkara [6] (IND) bt   Shweta Rana(IND) 6-0, 6-2

Ramya Natarajan, [7]IND bt  Jyothi Manjunath,  6-0,6-0

Salsa Aher(WC) (IND) bt  Preethi Ujjini(IND)  6-2, 6-2      

Amrita Mukherjee (IND) bt  Nafees Bano Syed(IND) 6-0, 6-0    

Soha Sadiq(IND) bt  Neha Ghare(IND) 6-2, 7-6(2)

 Shivani Ingle(WC) (IND)  bt    Aastha Dargude (IND) 6-3, 6-1

Pareen Shivekar(IND)  bt  Dakshata Patel (WC) (IND) 6-1, 6-1  

Sara Yadav(IND)  bt  Sindhu Janagam(IND)  2-6, 6-1, 6-3